Winners Announced in 2019 Missouri Pork Association Swine Judging Contest

Columbia, Mo.,—On Friday, August 9, over 40 FFA and 4-H members participated in the 2019 Youth Swine Judging Contest at the Missouri State Fair in Sedalia. Winners were announced in both the Junior and Senior Division on an individual basis and as a team. The contest, sponsored by the Missouri Pork Association, consisted of four swine judging classes and two sets of ten questions.


In the Senior Division, top team honors went to the LLJM Team. Team members included Lainie Cowan, Lillian Smith, Jaycee Stimpson and Max Alexander. The second place PB&J Team included Pacey Cope, Carlee Long, Baylee Wade and Ben Ebbesmeyer. In third place was the Robinson Rebels Team of Kate Robinson, Lauren Robinson and Annie Robinson. The top individual in the Senior Division went to Jenna Perry from Liberal.


In the Junior Division, top team honors went to the 3 C’s and an E Team—members included Elliott Cooley, Carson Price, Callie Jennings and Clayton Jennings. The second place Make It Happen Team included Ty Murphy, Wyatt Copenhaver and Brayden Neider. In third place was the Youngens Team of Emily Schriner, Maci Johnson, Andrew Schriner and Braden Stimpson. Ryder Ficken from Chillicothe was the top individual in the Junior Division.


The top three teams and the highest individual in each division received cash awards and prizes, while the first place individual and each first place team member in each division also received a plaque.


Thanks to this year’s prize sponsors: Perry Genetics, Maximum Genetics, Kane Manufacturing, Parrott Family Showpigs, H and H Show Supplies and A Double L Showpigs.


The Missouri Pork Association represents the state’s pork producers in the areas of promotion, research, education and legislation. For more information about this or any other programs of the Missouri Pork Association, go to, or call (573) 445-8375.


# # #