Applications are now being accepted for the 2024 University of Missouri Youth Pork Institute. This annual youth event will be held June 10-12 on the MU campus. Planned activities include tours of the MU Swine Farm, MU Feed Mill, vet college diagnostics lab and dinner at the Missouri Pork Association headquarters. Prior to leaving, participants will take a written exam. The top two highest-scoring individuals will each earn a $1,000 college scholarship to the University of Missouri.

Apply online now.

Dr. Ron Plain, professor emeritus and extension economist in the Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics at the University of Missouri- Columbia, was recognized as National Pork Board’s Distinguished Service Award recipient at the 2023 Pork Forum.

On December 6, the Missouri Pork Association, National Pork Board and the University of Missouri held the third annual FFA Swine Facility Management Contest in Columbia, Missouri. The California FFA Chapter received first place in this hands-on event that focused on real-world jobs in the pork industry. California FFA team members included Derek Bolinger, Ayden Howard, Ellye Messerli and Paige Morris.